Bon/Bonne

24 01 2012

The French have a lot of little sayings using ‘bon’ or ‘bonne,’ both of which mean good.

Bon arrivé (welcoming after travel)

Bon voyage (have a safe/good trip)

Bonjour (hello)

Bon courage (hang in there)

Bon chance (good luck)

Bonne journée (have a good day)

Bon après-midi (have a good afternoon)

Bonne nuit (good night)

Bonsoir (good evening)

Bonne soirée (have a good evening)

There are others too.  I used to think it was a bit excessive.  It seemed like every time I did something, someone was wishing a ‘Bon’ this and a “Bonne” that, however now I catch myself wishing I could use them in English.  They’re so short and convenient and when I try to use the English equivalent it just doesn’t seem to translate or fit the situation as well.  Funny how that happens.  I guess it’s a sign that I’m becoming more and more accustomed to speaking mostly in French.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

